Opening Moves


There are, as explained in this post, two categories of opening moves – or strategies – in Diplomacy:

  • Spring 1901 Openings: Those moves which are purely ordered in Spring 1901.  These are based on a single power.
  • Extended Openings: Those which extend beyond S01 and usually involve two or more powers cooperating.

Spring 1901 Openings

  • Northern Openings: The Yorkshire Opening
  • Northern Openings: The Churchill Opening
  • Southern Openings: The Pure Southern
  • Southern Openings: The Edinburgh Opening
  • The Western Opening
  • The Splits